Optimistic Lily

When I was in matric , my plansย regarding the weekend were usually those along the lines of Katy Perry’s Last Friday Night ( TGIF) because I was , as you can imagine, the resident party girl in my school.

tumblr_m3hd6rk2n51rowwtso1_500

tumblr_mf0l4t9CMI1rq0hnm
Watch Out For Lily !

 

Okay , that was a bit hyperbolic ( ย the use of gross exaggeration for comic effect and emphasis ) . I usually spent the weekend in pajamas ย in my room watching ย series (Sherlock, GOT, Orphan Black, Orange Is The New Blackย , Suits, House, New Girl,Two Broke Girls The Lying Game, Once Upon A Time, The Mentalist, Castle, Lie To Me, Bones, Scrubs, Friends, How I Met Your Mother, Castle, Downton Abbey etcetera, etcetera ) unless my mom forced me to be social and stuff. ย  The weekend was basically my time to relax, shake off the stress from school and just focus on me.

tumblr_n90uaoQRkg1tvmh47o1_500
Finding out that Dan was Gossip Girl was ย very difficult for me to accept

 

Fast forward to the year 2014 and the reality that I am living is astonishinglyย different. I still spend the weekends in my pajamas but,ย in an effort to boost my concentration, I’veย buriedย my hard drive . It was a difficult decision to make but it was for the greater good. I hope my grades thank me at the end of the semester because this is all for them. I’m actually a little bit worried that I might have hidden my hard drive a littleย too wellย  because none of my efforts to locate it have been successful.

Medical students do not have weekends. Thisย is a painful reality that I am slowly coming to terms with. Pathology, the block that I am currently studying , is harrowing. I thought that the first semester was difficult but second semester thus far is proving to be even more difficult.. Pathology is the study of disease and it ย is so much work that some ( amazing) former medical student thought it necessary to compile a survival guide for it. You know that your work is on another level when you need a guide to survive it. I have made and printed more notes in these two weeks than i have in my three years of studying biology in high school.ย The only consolation that I have is that the 200+ other people in my class are experiencing the same hardship.

Everyone strongly dislikes Pathology ( except the lecturers ) . If you mention pathology to any senior, their reactions are usually along the lines of ย : ย “OMG, I can’t even !ย ย “orย  “That was horrible ! “orย  “What a nightmareย !”ย orย ” Path, aargh ( face palm or face wall depending onย theย degree of anguish in tone of voice) ย ! ”ย  .

 

tumblr_n8hedjZCt61s904umo10_500 (1)
That’s the reaction I get 85% of the time.

 

tumblr_n98bzpf8BP1s45tumo1_500
About 10 % of the time

 

tumblr_n8pugpS5WJ1twssf3o1_500
The other 5 %

I , however, refuse to let this bog me down because positivity is the name of the game that I’ve decided to play and I intend on winning . My optimistic nature will prevail and I will emerge victorious. The fact that ย there are so many people that are seniors proves that Pathology ย is not an insurmountableย obstacle.ย ย I will attack it with so much enthusiasm, itย will have no choice but to let me pass.

tumblr_n7mvh08Rk91sh43kgo1_500
I WILL SURVIVE !

 

tumblr_n02aanHbVG1rorqk0o1_500
I WILL SURVIVE PATHOLOGY !

 

But that is enough optimism for one day. I might begin chundering rainbows.

 

tumblr_n94juw7Vzb1sp4wmjo1_500 (1)
Teehee !

Lots Of Lily Love ย (LOLL) โค

3 thoughts on “Optimistic Lily

  1. Haha! Second Semester was actually when I started watching series… but seriously, House Season 1 has a lot of things you learn in Path. And Bones is pretty good for the anatomy side (because the biggest problem I had with Path was that they were teaching us abnormalities before we knew what normal looked like. I mean?).

    I don’t know how much the syllabus has changed since my first year, but I’m emailing you some of my summaries that have helped quite a few students in the past. Feel free to disseminate them to your colleagues.

    Kudos for putting the hard drive away – I’m certain your grades will thank you. Just remember to have some fun too, otherwise your brain might really fry itself!

    P.S: ORPHAN BLACK!!!!!

    Like

    1. Thanks for the notes ! They are brilliant ๐Ÿ™‚ Everything is still pretty much the same so i don’t think much has changed .

      Hiding my hard drive was a necessary evil ! Now instead of reaching for my laptop when i’m bored, I reach for my path textbook !

      Clone club is aweome ! I am so excited for season 3 ๐Ÿ˜‰ ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

I adore comments ! Feel free to drop one below :)

