Cram. Pass. Forget


ย I experienced acute cardiogenic shock as Iย scanned through the paper. My brain cells spontaneously apoptosed at the sight of question number one. A sharpย pain movedย  peristaltically along the length of my body, eventually settling in my abdomen. I took a deep breath and turned the page , anxious to discover what other pathological horrors lay ahead of me. I shook my head morosely and sighed as I read ย questionย numberย two .

I quickly glancedย  around the hall. The bland blue walls of the examination hall seemed to reverberate the melancholy in my heart. The person seated behind me sighed deeply , as if in empathy . All I saw were defeated faces from defeated students. One girl was clutching her abdomen as if her appendix had ruptured . Another massaged her temples almost as if she was tryingย  to coax the answersย  out from her reluctant , unwilling brain. This was Pathology.


Our module conveners made the decision to give us a “mid-module” assessment in order to prepare us for the end of block pathology assessment that we have at the end of this month. ย Pathology has a reputation for being the most failed subjectย in the first year curriculum on campus. Rumor has it that if you survive Pathology, you are sure to survive the oncoming years because nothing gets any worse than Pathology. Many of us ( myself included) were incredibly nonchalantย  unperturbedย regarding this assessment considering the fact that it was to consist of only 50 marks ( “small fry” compared to the whooping 200 ย marks in the end of block assessment).

My class is usually full of jovialityย but the mood after the assessment was decidedly somber.I suspect a couple of myocardial infarctions (myself included) were induced on that Friday afternoon last week. I cannot say whether or not this feeling of shock was mutually exclusive but I am willing to wager that the vast majority, if not the entire class, was not prepared for the assessment.

 

tumblr_n5itjelECA1r0fnh9o1_500

 

Do not misunderstand me, we studied. We are incredibly hard-working and dedicated students and there is no doubt in my mind that we all worked tirelesslyย to prepare for this test. We were just not prepared for the manner in which the test was asked. The questions asked were incredibly specific and one could not simply have learnt it all .

I blame our high school education for that incredible shock. ย In high school, we were taught under the OBE curriculum. At OBE level, it was not necessary to learn detailed explanations . All you had to do was put the CPF method into play. What is CPF method you ask? Cram. Pass.Forget.ย We crammed our work at the last minute just so that we would know enough beforehand to enable to pass the test or assessment but forgot most of what we learnt immediately afterwards.

Things were significantly simplified or rather “dumbed down” for us. Teachers, through no fault of their own, were reduced to teaching us the bare minimum amount of work that the curriculum allowed. We were always told that learning things at intricate details was incredibly unnecessary and that we would learn in our years of university.

I was incredibly lucky to have gone to a school where the teachers often went beyond their call of duty. They taught us beyond the limited horizons that were confined to and made things difficult for us . They refused to let us settle for less when it came to our knowledge.

Needless to say, the test was a “wake-up” call for me . I am guilty of using the CPF method on some occasions and Iย am now truly committed to changing my ways.

Lots Of Lily Love โค (LOLL)

 

 

5 thoughts on “Cram. Pass. Forget

    1. Thanks Azraa ! I guess those lessons in awesome you gave me are paying off ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ll do my best to post more ๐Ÿ™‚

      Joanne is the loveliest human being on this earth ! I absolutely adore her. If I met her, i’d spend half the time basking in her awesomeness and the other half trying to convince her to continue the Harry Potter series with me as an addition.

      Like

  1. This is the method I used in high school until I realised in matric that it isn’t working because it just increases my studying time.
    If you are going to be a doctor I think it can be more harmful since your information is life and death…that sounded so deep

    Liked by 1 person

I adore comments ! Feel free to drop one below :)

