The Pluviophile Diaries

During which Lily is a pluviophile. A lover of rain.

Thanks to Cape Town’s beautiful Mediterranean climate , we do not receive any snow in winter.There is a lot of rain, however .The pluviophile in me rejoices whenever I see overcast skies. I really love the rain.ย I love the transformation that the sky undergoes. Everything has a vestige of nostalgia and luminosity infused into it.ย 

rain bedroom

I must confess that I have not always been fond of the rain. My first Capetonian winter was particularly wretched. I was seven years old and my family had just emigrated from Harare. This winter coincided with the June holidays. The rain did not please me at all. ย I was accustomed to Harare’s chilly but dry winter. All I could do was stare in horror at the sombre delugeย that trapped me inside during my dearly beloved holiday.rain 2

The inner street fighter in me was used to exploring the streets of Harare with my friends in tow. We would rise early and begin our daily timetable. Every single activity planned was in an effort to be as far away from home but close enough to avoid getting ourselves into trouble.ย We played nhodo ( a game of stones) , on-on (tag in America) , hop-scotch , skip-skip (Rope swinging) . We climbed trees , defended our fortresses and just revelled in the joy of playing outside.

The incessant rain in Cape Town meant that I had to develop other means of entertainment. I quickly discovered the joy of reading books whilst nestled in warm blankets. I discovered that my little sister was not actually a bad playmate and we re-enacted our favourite scenes from movies that we watched . My favourite memories include those during which we sang around the house, sliding on the wooden floors in our bed socks and the mugs of hot chocolate and marshmallows my mom allowed us to have ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿป

Wintry Confessions

Confessions #1: I crave the solitude ofย winter.ย Winter must be the introvert’s season. You do not have to feel guilty for preferringย to stay indoors and finish a good book whilst sipping hot chocolate in your bed. It’s socially acceptable to adorn yourself in pyjamas all day if you choose. Movie marathons are made that much cooler by the ambient atmosphere (perfect for Harry Potter , LOTR and , surprisingly , Twilight) . You do not have to feel obligated to use every day to its full worth. You can take a rain-check whenever you want because it will literally be raining most of the time.

Confession #2:ย Winter clothes are the easiest clothes to wear. The simplicity wearing of ย what makes you warm instead of ย fashionable appeals to my eternally lazy self. Boots and coats are my staple items and the ease with which one can pair them up is fantastic. You can wear mismatching socks with your boots and no one but you ever need know. The most important thing is that you are warm.

Confession #3: I love winter because of the quiet that it brings . There’s less hustle and bustle. If you venture out into the cold , it is because you have a purpose and a destination in mind. Everything you do is with the intention of coming back home where you can be warm and dry. In summer one can loiter and wander around with no real destination or purpose.winter rain deluge

Confession#4: I love winter food !ย Being a foodie, I appreciate the variety in sustenance that the winter season brings along with it. Hot chocolate drinks , butter-nut and chicken soup. Beef stew and goulash. The only remotely unpleasant part in all of this is that the exercise has to be doubled if not tripled to avoid the dreaded “winter gain”.

Confession #5: Rain is romantic and fun ! โค โค โค ๐Ÿ˜‰

tumblr_nfw3l5gql71r3mgzzo1_500
Scenes like these are made more awesome by the rain ๐Ÿ™‚ โค

Lots Of Lily Love (LOLL) โค โค

I adore comments ! Feel free to drop one below :)

