At Times Inexplicably Small

Current Rotation : Paediatrics

crying baby
An incredibly accurate representation of the paediatric ward for at least 2-3 hours of any day if not more 🙂

Salutations !I thought I’d do a Lily Update  to catch you up, blog reader, with my awkward existence and what I have been making of it for the past month. As this is primarily a blog of feels , do prepare yourself for lots of those 😛 ❤ 🙂

On Hospital : Being introverted in medical school poses unique challenges. I’ve come to realise that speaking in hospital during ward rounds is not a big deal , just as long the consultant is not present and what you say makes sense.

The Problem : Sometimes , I don’t know if some of the things I have to say make any sense at all until I say them. Only afterwards do I realise that I could/should have said something else. Cue lots of embarrassment and awkwardness when you blurt out the wrong answer with complete gusto and confidence.  feeling the awkward

In Paediatrics , the doctors encourage us to “take our learning into our own hands” , which translates to doing as little as possible on some days. It’s a great opportunity for me to get my notes and examination preparation on the go.  I sincerely hope that this is the rotation during which I can “get my act together” , not that my act is not already “together”, but more so in preparation for the challenging and time consuming Internal Medicine rotation I have before I start with exams in November . Yikes !

On Life : Somedays it’s not easy to avoid feeling inexplicably small and incredibly fragile. These are the days that  the universe conspires against you and organises a well-timed revolt. I’ve had a couple of these days and I learnt that all you need to do is wait it out . I have to always remind myself that “This too shall pass , even if it passes like a kidney stone”. 😛

kidney stone passing

On Friends: Bless them , bless their hearts and cherish them so long as you can. This year has been characterised with melancholy and deep heartache in this regard but I’ve learnt a lot and grown from my experiences. As I get older, I come to realise that some people are only meant to occupy fleeting roles in your life and that is alright. It’s not your fault that people drift away and change.

On Adulting: Gah ! Why is it so hard ?? 20 feels more expectant than 19. Being 19 was so easy. Lately I’ve been filled with “millennial anxiety”. Random questions pop up in my head at random times.  When will I finally graduate? (2019) When will I  finally become completely independent ? Will I be content in the future? Is there anything I can do now to make it easier in the future? And most importantly , will I know how to do my taxes As of now , I am firmly supportive of the view that adulting should be optional !

On Dating: The Chronicles of Tinder Lily are coming soon ! I have tons to share ! 😀  All encounters sufficiently awkward and worthy of a cringe-worthy compilation.,swipe tinder

On Health: I have not gone running in a loooong time !  I am currently feeling the onslaught of my respiratory system’s wrath every time I attempt to surmount the stairs . My body , my lungs in particular, seem to have acquired an immune reaction towards anything that includes an increase in my usually resting (read sleeping) heart rate

BUT  I am planning on using Pokemon Go to my advantage. I plan to hatch at least three eggs a week and in order to achieve that ambitious goal  , I will go running three times a week . It’s foolproof. The more I run , the more eggs I will hatch and the greater my chances of hatching a regional Pokemon because I can’t actually afford to fly halfway across the world for Pokemon 😦

And yes I am Team Mystic !

team mystic

Lots of Lily Love (LOLL) ❤ ❤ ❤

5 thoughts on “At Times Inexplicably Small

  1. Hi Lily. At Stellenbosch university are you at the Tygerberg campus from first year on? I was wondering how accommodation would work for medical students at Stellenbosch 🙂

    Like

  2. I really enjoy your ‘Lily Updates’. As a fellow med student, the best thing I’ve read about being a introvert in medicine is “personality is more about how you do your specialty, rather than what specialty you do”. So yay for introvert power! 😂

    Liked by 1 person

I adore comments ! Feel free to drop one below :)

