The Adventures of TinderLily: Part 2

The second part in  my unconventional means of forced social interaction:) 

Tinder is definitely unconventional. It’s transcends the classic boy-meets-girl ideology that we have indoctrinated into our rigid and expected dating experiences.  I liked it for a number of reasons and also disliked for different reasons.

The Good 🙂

  • I like the “mutual commitment” that comes with Tinder. You can’t talk to someone unless they like you and you consequently match withguys flirting on tinder each other. I think that makes it easier to steer clear of the real creeps and stalkers.
  • I like the variety of people that I got to ” choose” ( for lack of a better word) from. In my capacity as a medical student who spends approximately 90% of her time studying and memorizing facts , there is not much to “choose” from except the health and allied health faculty students . Artists , musicians , engineers 😛 , adventurers , the unemployed and employed are the pick of the day on Tinder.
  • The ease with which you can decide to terminate a match. You simply un-match and , like magic , the creep goes away.

The Bad 😦

  • This is where Tinder veers into the classification of “weird”.  Not everyone has the same intentions on Tinder. Some are searching ardently for their soulmates and others are . .. well others are looking for a “quick fix”.200
  • It’s shallow. There I’ve said it. You match with someone on the basis of a few pictures with fortunate angles and lighting  along with an often grammatically incorrect / vague / pretentious bio. With some people that’s where the attraction ended.tinder
  • Age is but a number. One would think that the quality of conversation improves as people age but alas. 24 year old guys are often just as immature as 15 year olds.
  • Fake profiles galore ! Be suspicious when someone’s pictures look “too good to be true”

Tinder is strangely addictive , annoying and exciting at the same time. I must however say that I prefer the old-fashioned route where people attempt to establish personal instead of online relationships. It’s exhausting talking to several people at the same time ! I’m quite the loyalist and very often I felt SO bad for talking to more than one guy at a time if I liked one more. I also prefer focusing all my attention on one lucky individual at a time. It makes it so much easier to create a lasting “bond” .earn me

I’m saying that now. Who knows , maybe in a couple of months or years I might find myself swiping right for my soulmate . 😛

Look out for part 3 , the final installment , soon 🙂

Lots Of Lily Love (LOLL) ❤ ❤ ❤

I adore comments ! Feel free to drop one below :)

