A Year In Review : 2016

The Internet has hailed it one of the worst years in existence and I have some compelling examples from my experience this year to substantiate that claim. 

However , the tale of 2016 has not been entirely filled with deep melancholy , unending sadness and pain. Through the forest of despair , ephemeral rays of happiness and joy were able to shine through and provide some calm to the calamity that was 2016. 

January

The beginning of the year was stressful for me. I hardly enjoyed my December holiday at the end of 2015 nor did I feel rested and well prepared for the year 2016.

I spent 3 weeks of my 4 week holiday preparing for my then upcoming supplementary exam in January.  I hardly felt at peace and that resulted in feeling miserable especially knowing that I could not visit my grandparents over the Christmas period.

Being in possession of my overactive imagination put me in the most incredible anguish that I had ever found myself in. I began to imagine horrible and completely abhorrent scenarios concerning my future.That was until I received the fantastic news  that I had PASSED ๐Ÿ™Œ๐Ÿ’ช

February

The start of my clinical rotations was not as exciting as some of my classmates . I started with family medicine and I began to indulge my tendencies of being lazy as the incredibly lax schedule allowed me to do so. I also went through some personal problems that made the entire experience unfavourable and seemingly unfair .

March

Nothing significant to note other than the fact that I was struggling with my theory. I felt unfocused and studying became more cumbersome every day. I experienced a mental block and my usual organised timetable came to a halt.

I felt very defeated , academically and emotionally. It may have been the effects of having had no rest over my December holiday. I also think that I felt a severe loss of confidence in my abilities and that I began to question my abilities unnecessarily.

April aka The Month That Changed My Life !!!๐Ÿ™Œ

I have been gushing over this month in every single post but it is absolutely necessary! This is the month that surgery changed my life. I went from being unmotivated , lacklustre and  helplessly tired to completely rejuvenated and euphoric about the future.  I felt a renewed sense of purpose in what I needed to do in my life.

I know that I have been going on ad nauseum (and for that I apologise๐Ÿ˜…) but until you undergo the change that I experienced , you will not understand just how amazing I felt. After struggling with issues of loss of confidence for the first three months of the year , April was a brilliant month for me.  It reignited the spark that had been lost in me . I felt more excited about medicine!

May  –  June – July – August – September – October

These months passed by very smoothly. I felt much better and was on track to being the optimist Lily that I always am.I felt more confident with my clinical exposure. Each rotation became easier to handle. I got my academic mojo back and remembered how much I enjoyed the benefits of studying and how excited knowing stuff made me .

November

I worked very hard during the exams and committed myself to completing the year on an academic high. I studied very hard and put a lot of effort into learning my work well.  All my hard work and effort paid off and I passed all my exams with even better marks than I had imagined. It was a huge boost to my confidence to see that I could still excel the way I was used to.โœŒ๐Ÿ’ช๐Ÿ˜„wp-1481605966044.jpg

December

Now I’m on holiday and I am committed to enjoying my holiday as best as I can. I’m catching up with many of my friends and it feels great to be “connected” again.img_20161213_041743.jpg

I am , however , going to start an academic year review towards the end of my holiday so that I can consolidate my knowledge and go into 2017 with complete confidence having prepared as best as I can ๐ŸŒธ .๐Ÿ˜Š

Lots of Lily Love (LOLL)  โคโคโคโค

One thought on “A Year In Review : 2016

I adore comments ! Feel free to drop one below :)

